Making New Years Goals Whilst Having A Chronic Illness

It’s always a difficult task contemplating and planning your New Years goals and resolutions, no matter what your situation may be. But doing this whilst having a chronic illness that limits you an incredible amount in life, makes it that much more difficult a task.
2016 has been an extremely tough year all ways round; there’s been an awful lot of stress for me with moving house and the usual chaos that chronic illness brings to my life.

Despite all of that, I truly want to make 2017 a much better year. The main thing I’d like to achieve is to simply have a better quality of life, which is a somewhat difficult one to fulfil when you’re bed bound 90% of the time. But nonetheless I’m hoping to be able to get out in my wheelchair more and prioritise that goal in my life. Obviously this is all reliant on my illness and when I’m up to getting hoisted out of bed.

There’s so many things I dream of achieving, but with my severe M.E getting in the way of most of it, the trick is to simply be realistic as to what you’d like to achieve in the new year, so as not to put too much pressure on yourself and then get disappointed because of it; that added stress is never helpful for your illness.

I have my overall 2017 goals and then plan to break it down month to month into more achievable steps. My goals this new year mainly revolve around getting out of the house more (when I’m able to), pursue my photography much more and setting up a business from home; that I’ll be able to run despite my situation and being stuck in bed. It’s finding the things you are able to do to give you something positive to focus on in your life and adapt those goals to your situation.

Hope you’re all enjoying the holidays and that you have a great start to the new year!

Let me know what your New Year goals are that you’d like to achieve and leave them in the comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

